Second woman joins Nunavut legislature

Jeannie Ugyuk of Taloyoak doubles vote on two other opponents in Nattilik


Jeannie Ugyuk of Taloyoak piled up the vote in her home community of Taloyoak, winning 51.1 per cent of total ballots cast to defeat two opponents from Gjoa Haven and win yesterday’s by-election in Nattilik.

The Nattilik constituency, which takes in the communities of Gjoa Haven and Taloyoak, fell vacant Feb. 22 when Enuk Pauloosie, elected in 2008, resigned his seat.

In the subsequent by-election, Ugyuk, who has worked as a teacher, hamlet councillor and social worker, took 358 votes out of 687 votes cast, including 229 of 296 votes cast in her home community.

Ugyuk also held her own in Gjoa Haven, taking 105 votes there. She also won 24 votes in advance polls held in each community.

Anthony Angutittauruq of Gjoa Haven, a municipal employee, finished second with 196 votes, while Joseph Aglukkaq, a former mayor of Gjoa Haven, finished last with 127 votes.

About 69 per cent of eligible voters cast ballots in the by-election.

Each of the three campaigns must submit financial returns within 60 days. Ugyuk must submit a return before she may take her seat in the Nunavut legislature, which is scheduled to reconvene June 1.

The only other woman serving right now in the Nunavut legislative assembly is the Nunavut premier and MLA for Iqaluit East, Eva Aariak.

Unofficial Nattilik vote count from Elections Nunavut (PDF, 104 KB)

Share This Story

(0) Comments