Nunavut Edition Headline News

October 2, 1998

Ningark will not seek re-election in Nunavut

A veteran Nunavut MLA calls it quits.

Nunatsiaq News

IQALUIT — Natilikmeot MLA John Ningark is calling it quits.

The veteran MLA from Pelly Bay announced in the NWT legislative assembly last Friday that he won't seek a seat in next February's Nunavut election.

"I would like to make public what I told my wife at the beginning of my term of the 13th assembly," Ningark said.

"To make sure she agrees, I talked to her over the phone last night and she agreed. Mr. Speaker, my colleagues and the public I will not be seeking re-election in the upcoming elections."

Ningark, who has served as chair of the Nunavut caucus for the past three and a half years, was first elected to the Natilikmeot seat in 1989 in a by-election to replace Michael Angotitauraq.

Ningark was then re-elected to the assembly in 1991 and 1995. For a brief period in 1992, he served as a cabinet minister, holding the Renewable Resources portfolio.

But during the strife-torn assembly of that period, he quit his cabinet job, saying the stress and conflict was too hard on his family life.

Ningark's old constituency, which takes in the eastern Kitikmeot communities of Taloyoak, Gjoa Haven and Pelly Bay, won't exist after the creation of Nunavut.

Taloyoak and Gjoa Haven have been put together into the Nattilik constituency, while Ningark's home town of Pelly Bay has been combined with Repulse Bay to form the Akullik constituency.

Nunavut's first legislative assembly election will be held Feb. 15 1999. The writ for that election will be issued Jan. 1.